Successful Sewing: Top Tools

A couple of summers ago, I decided I wanted to learn how to sew. My grandma is exceptionally gifted with sewing (she sews her own slip covers, people!!) and I never had the chance to learn in school. Because I love sewing and making things, it seemed like a fabulous hobby to pick up. I’m so happy I decided to learn–sewing is sort of an obsession now!
If you want to start sewing, you absolutely should! Just remember, it takes a little patience. You won’t be perfect right away. Start on some beginner projects and build your skills from there. You’ll love it, I promise.
Anyway, here are some of my favorite sewing tools that I rely on for all of my sewing projects.

Kelly’s Top Sewing Tools

20140119-162124.jpg

1. Fabric scissors. Because measuring and cutting are the most time-consuming and (in my opinion) the most important, you need a good pair of fabric-onlyscissors to cut your fabric. I use Fiskars scissors, and I labeled them with sharpie to make sure nobody accidentally uses them on anything else and ruins them. They are a little expensive, so make sure you only use them for fabric so they last.

2. Transparent sewing ruler. My grandma gave this to me for my birthday, and I’ve loved it so much! I believe that measuring should be done very carefully–it’s really the most time-consuming part of sewing–and having a transparent ruler is so helpful. Not only can you measure the exact amount of fabric you need, but you can trace along a straight edge to make cutting a breeze. It’s a huge time saver, and you won’t have the post-cutting panic after realizing you cut crooked or measured wrong. We’ve all been there.

3. Iron and ironing board. Before measuring and cutting, I always iron my fabric. It helps you measure more accurately, and makes sewing much easier. I also use it to make folds or seams in the fabric for certain projects, so I’m able to pin the fabric correctly. Always take the time to iron.

These tools are definitely some of my favorite things for sewing, and I know that they’ll help you, too! Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

