DIY Cat-Themed Cups

photo 1

I’m so excited to share this DIY with you today because: 1) it’s really easy, and 2) you can customize it however you like! I decided to make my cups pretty with cute cat-themed puns. What will you draw on yours?

DIY Cat-Themed Cups:

1. Gather your supplies. I used plastic cups, which aren’t ideal because you’re supposed to heat the finished work in the oven after drying. So, it’s probably best to use oven-safe glass cups or mugs for this project! I also used a Craft Smart Paint Pen.

2. Plan your design. I practiced my cat puns on a piece of lined paper before starting in on my cups. I wanted to make sure I had the spacing right, and the look that I wanted. After practicing on paper, I dove right in with the paint pen, but if you’re nervous about messing up you can always draw the design in pencil first!

3. Paint in your design, and let it dry for 24 hours. Then, you’re good to go!

photo 2

I added little cat ears and whiskers to this cup, and I love the way it turned out!

photo 3 photo 4

 I decided to add a little cat face on the back of this cup, and even though it’s a little bit uneven I love the way it looks! It just added something special.

I’m so happy with how this project turned out! I think that this would make a great gift–just think how fun it would be to personalize a mug or cup and fill it with little goodies for someone–or just a fun way to make yourself some custom drink ware. I think it would be fun to make a dog-themed set next–I was thinking of using “I ruff you.” Okay, I know it’s pretty cheesy, but I do love a good pun.

Happy crafting!

4 thoughts on “DIY Cat-Themed Cups

Leave a Reply

