Personal Pizza Party

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving yesterday!

Since I wasn’t able to go home for Thanksgiving this year, I invited a couple of my friends over (they also were stuck in Pittsburgh for the holiday). None of us are big turkey eaters, and rather than spending a lot of time and money preparing a traditional Thanksgiving dinner for the three of us, I decided to have a “Make-Your-Own Pizza Bar.”

It was a really fun time! I prepped the dough to rise before my friends came over, and when they arrived each of us formed our little pizzas. One of my friends made her pizza into a little rectangle, which I thought was pretty clever! We baked the dough for a few minutes before adding sauce + toppings, and popped them back in the oven to bake while we watched all of the “Friends” Thanksgiving episodes.

Here’s the set-up:

IMG_1557

We had marinara sauce, mozzarella cheese, green peppers, mushrooms, ham slices, canned pineapple, and turkey pepperoni on the table, and it worked out great because everybody could take as much (or as little!) of any ingredients that they wanted. I appreciate that, being lactose intolerant, because I can sprinkle less cheese on and not disappoint my fellow dinner-mates.

IMG_1564

Our pretty little pizzas, all lined up in a row, ready to bake!

IMG_1562 IMG_1568

My pizza, before and after baking (sorry the after shot is so dark, we got really hungry and I almost forgot to take a picture before demolishing it!).

If you’re having a little dinner party and aren’t sure what to make, I would recommend having a little personal pizza party! The setup is really easy, and everyone can personalize their own meal. Invite guests to bring their own toppings to share with the rest of the group — you might get some pretty fun combinations that you hadn’t expected!

Lastly, a little personal note: this week has been a really tough week for me. As a grad student, we get 3 days off from school for Thanksgiving break, and almost everyone in my class went home to spend the time off with family. I’ve been struggling with being homesick for a while, and it’s been pretty hard scrolling through my Facebook feed seeing so many people home with their families. I’m not going to lie to you, I had a couple several meltdowns this week. I’ve felt myself getting a little bit jealous and upset that everyone else was at home, while I was stuck in PA. It’s been an emotionally taxing week. But having my friends over for Thanksgiving was a really nice way to distract myself and have some fun, and I’m so glad that I had them to spend the holiday with. I’m counting down the days until I’m back in Colorado for winter break – only 16 days to go!

3 thoughts on “Personal Pizza Party

  1. Pingback: Homemade Pizza Rolls | Imperfect Chevron

Leave a Reply

