Homemade Pizza Rolls

Did you ever eat those frozen pizza rolls as a kid?

I’ll be the first to admit I hated anything with spaghetti sauce as a kid (I was a total freak, I know). But a couple years back, when I was still in full-blown vegetarian mode and my family went on a vacation to Florida, my mom bought me some frozen pizza rolls to eat for lunch. I fell in love with them! And pretty much anything with spaghetti sauce is my BFF now that I’m in my twenties.

Anyway, I had some leftover pizza dough in my freezer from Thanksgiving this year (you can read that post here), so this weekend I decided to whip up some homemade pizza rolls to freeze. I figured I could pull them out of the freezer some night when I’m desperate for something fast. They turned out really good (although not very pretty, so don’t judge them by the way they look).

Homemade Pizza Rolls

First, I prepped my ingredients. I used 1 leaf of kale, and grated a little mozzarella and parmesan cheese to put inside with my spaghetti sauce.

IMG_1702

Next, I cut my dough into little pieces.

IMG_1704

I rolled the dough up into little balls, flattened them into circular shapes, and filled them with spaghetti sauce, kale, and cheese.

IMG_1706

I folded them up like little burritos, and popped them in the oven (preheat 400 F, cook for 15-20 mins until they start to brown).

IMG_1708

Like I said, they aren’t pretty. But they sure taste good! I can’t wait to eat them all up.

You could personalize these with any ingredients that you wanted, pepperoni, mushrooms, etc. Just don’t fill them too full, or you won’t be able to close them!

xo.

Leave a Reply

