How To: Survive Winter

I’ve complained about winter a lot, which makes me feel bad. It’s not that I completely hate the whole season…there are lots of things I do like about winter, like skiing, Christmas, cozy sweaters, and watching the snow fall. But I’m definitely more of a summer person. I’m the happiest in the sunshine, when I can spend all day long outside.

Winters are always so long (where I live, at least), and by the time February rolls around I’m already so over it, and we’re not even close to being done with winter. If you’re anything like me, it can be pretty hard to keep your spirits up this time of year.

So today, I’m sharing a little list of some tips for getting through the long winter.

How To Survive Winter

1. Find little things that make you happy.
For me, I find a lot of happiness in watching my neighborhood’s feral cats outside of my window. They’re sure resilient little kitties, walking through snow up to their stomachs and surviving the bitter cold Pittsburgh weather. I love watching them hang out and try to find those little patches of sunlight to bask in. I’m also trying to paint some (although school work prevents me from doing so as much as I’d like) because it makes me happy.

2. Get outside every day, no matter the weather.
I know, this sounds a little crazy. But I have to say that I always feel more productive and more awake/alive when I leave my house, even when it’s just for a 10 minute walk around the block. I just bundle myself up in tons of layers and head outside for a couple of minutes.

3. If possible, plan a trip or vacation.
I know that it isn’t always possible. This year, I’m going on a spring break trip for the first time in my life, and I could not be more excited. The mere thought of sitting on a beach in just a few short weeks is enough to keep me happy for a few hours! If you can’t go somewhere far, plan a day trip somewhere for a weekend. Having something to look forwards to really helps.

4. Get to the gym (sometimes).
I’ve been really pushing myself to get to the gym the last few weeks, and even though I hate HATE going, I always feel so much better about myself after I get back from the gym. Any kind of movement helps in the winter. If you live somewhere that doesn’t get so icy, take some brisk little winter walks!

Those are some of my tips for getting through winter alive. Do you have any good ideas? I’d love to hear them–winter is such a rough season for me, and I’m really struggling this year with the dreary Pittsburgh weather (I’m very seasonally affected, and I’m missing the sunshine something fierce right now!).

xo.

Leave a Reply

