Painting: Playing Around

Have you ever had one of those weeks, when you just feel overall cruddy and grouchy? Last week was a doozy for me. I was emotionally and mentally exhausted, and I don’t love admitting that I had a few spontaneous emotional outbursts. It was a long week.

When Friday rolled around, I was ready for a break. I pulled out a big sheet of paper, all of the paintbrushes that I don’t use on a regular basis, and a few colors of paint. And then I just let loose.

IMG_1814

I had no pattern, nothing to follow, no rules. I just made random brush strokes, played with color and patterns. I even let paint drip down over it. It felt so good! And I know it’s nothing special, but I hung it over my bed when I was done, because it made me feel so good. I love it. Every time that I look at it, it reminds me that sometimes it’s okay to take a break from the hectic schedules. Sometimes it’s okay to just play around and have fun for an hour or two.

IMG_1815

I’m really trying to give myself more time to get my creative energy out. Painting is something that gives me so much joy, and I’m trying to let myself do it more.

Have a great week, everyone! Can you believe April is rolling in? Summer will be here before we know it.

xo.

Leave a Reply

