Big Summer Haircut

haircut

After a long 5 months without a haircut, my hair was starting to look pretty grungy and stringy. Gross. So when I got back home for the summer, one of the first things I did was head to Master Cuts (they actually do an amazing job, and a cut + style is only $25!). I’ve pretty much always had short hair, except back in 2012 when I sported this (disgustingly dry, chlorine-damaged) hairdo:

Lifeguard Group (2)

Yuck. Anyway, short hair is kind of my thing. I’ve had lots of different types of bobs and lobs, and this summer I wanted something really different. I have been hemming and hawing about getting bangs for a couple of years, and it just always seemed like a bad idea. But this summer, I finally did it!

haircut

I asked my stylist to cut long, choppy bangs that could be worn to the front, or pushed across to the side. I was basically adding a safety net in case I hated how I looked with straight-across bangs. And I’m so happy with these bangs!

haircut

I always bring in photos when I get my hair cut, because I have a hard time verbalizing what I want, and I always thing it helps to have a visual to refer to. I had my stylist cut a rounded edge so that my hair kind of curls under, giving me a little volume. It’s really a pretty low-maintenance cut–I just have to blow dry it and go (I use a round brush).

There’s just something about short hair and summer that seem to go together. I think I’ll try to get the same cut in August before I go back to school, so I can keep this cut a little longer!

haircut

And a black-and-white, just because. 😉

xo

4 thoughts on “Big Summer Haircut

Leave a Reply

