Let’s Talk Lunch

This semester has been unbelievably busy–I think I’ve said that about every semester, but this one has really taken the cake. There are so many moving parts, and in order to keep my sanity, I’ve tried to simplify my life in a couple ways. One of those ways is letting go of making “the perfect lunch” everyday.

I usually bring salads to lunch every day, but I just haven’t been able to make it happen this semester. Honestly, the last thing I want to do after a long day of school and homework is make a fancy lunch. So I’ve been “mono-eating” this semester to make things easy. Mono-eating is all about consistency and eating the same things every day.

My Typical Lunch

This is a picture of my typical daily lunch: a sandwich, an apple, and some form of finger-food veggies. It keeps me full until I get home, and it’s quick and easy to pack the night before. I know it seems kind of boring, but I’ve found a few ways to mix it up and make it work for me.

Some ideas for mixing up the basics:

  1. Different bread: you can use sandwich bread (I like whole wheat), English muffins, tortillas, bagels, or rolls to mix up your sandwiches.
  2. Different sandwich toppings: I rotate between turkey, chicken, egg salad, and tuna sandwiches, but you could make any type of sandwich you like!
  3. Get Creative with you Condiments: I’ve found that using different flavors of hummus on my sandwiches really adds a lot of flavor and makes it less boring. Plus, it feels a little healthier than slathering on the mayo.
  4. Mix up your veggies: I like to make it easy by packing veggies that I don’t have to work too hard to cut up, like baby carrots. My newest obsession is raw green beans–have you ever tried them? So good.

While I don’t plan on “mono-eating” beyond this semester, it’s working for me right now and that’s what matters. What do you like to take for lunch? Any other “mono-eaters” out there? I’d love to hear from you!

xo.

Leave a Reply

