Holiday Lights DIY

I love decorating for the holidays. The last few years, my family has put out decorations before I get home from school (but they always wait for me to decorate our tree!). This year, my mom bought a little foam craft kit from Michael’s for me to make during my break with the intent of hanging them from the string of lights on our front porch. They look so cute, you guys, when you see them you’ll want to make a string of lights for yourself! This craft is great for kids AND adults. You could even host a little craft party!

IMG_2305

For this string, we used a few different craft kits — Santa’s, penguins, snowmen, and owls (my favorite!).

After making the little foam creatures, I poked a piece of telephone wire through them. You could use any type of wire or string, and you could definitely use a hole punch to make it easier.

IMG_2298

With the little owls hanging on their wires, I was ready to hang them. I just slipped the wire through one of the cords on the string of lights, and then twisted the wire around itself. And that was all!

IMG_2297

This craft is so fun, and you could use the foam pieces for a lot of things! I also think they would make an adorable garland above the mantle or hung above a window.

Have you made any cute holiday decor? I’d love to see it on Twitter, tweet me @kellytraut with #DIYholiday

xo.

Leave a Reply

