Three Good Things: Challenge

I think of myself as an optimist and generally cheerful person, but I’ve noticed that I have fallen into a pattern of complaining and focusing on negative aspects of my day the last couple of years, which isn’t great. Not only is this habit adding more stress and negativity to my life, I hate complaining to others and off-loading my stresses onto them. Have you ever been around people who only have negative things to say about any situation? It’s no fun. So I’m trying to actively work on that in my life.

I started something this week that I think may help me combat the moody blues, and I want to share it here on the blog today in case any of you want to try it, too! It’s called “Three Good Things,” I learned it on Wednesday during orientation at my internship. three good things

Here’s how it works: every night, just before you go to bed, make a list of three good things that happened to you that day. It’s that simple. The things on your list can be as silly or as serious as you choose. You’re supposed to write down your three good things every night for two weeks, and then you can stop writing them down since you’ll be in the habit of thinking of what was good about your day.I kind of think I’ll continue to write down my lists and keep them all together, because I want to be able to look back at them in a few weeks/months.

beach bum club

nothing but blue skies ahead!

When you get in the habit of thinking about all of the positive things in your life, the bad things don’t stand out as much. Basically, it’s a way to retrain your brain, reduce stress, and improve your mood every day. Sounds pretty great to me! It’s only been 3 days since I started the challenge, but I’m already enjoying reflecting on each day and picking out three things that were really good.

Want to join me in the Three Good Things challenge? Comment on this post if you’re in!

xo.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Three Good Things: Challenge

  1. This is something I’ve practiced on and off for years. This year I’m trying to make time for it everyday, it has such a positive effect on one’s out-look. Good luck with it, hope the challenge goes well!

Leave a Reply

