My Sewing Machine Story

It’s no secret that I love to sew. Of course, I haven’t been sewing much the last 2 years, as I’ve been out of state attending grad school, but we won’t focus on that *wink*

A few years back, I decided that I wanted to learn how to sew. I’d never taken home ec in school, so I had absolutely no idea how to use a sewing machine. My amazing and patient mom taught me some sewing basics and let me practice on her machine. I made some pretty rough projects, but I enjoyed learning and started to get better at it over time. A few weeks before Christmas, my mom and I were wandering around our favorite flea market when we spotted a vintage machine with a sewing table and all of the accessories included. It looked to be in great shape, and after contacting the owners to see if the machine worked, my mom bought it for me for Christmas.

 

My Sewing Machine Story via Imperfect Chevron

a (very old) picture of me practicing with my Husqvarna

Why I’m Glad I Bought Vintage

I think we purchased all of it for about $40, which was an amazing deal, and after doing some research I found out the machine (a Viking Husqvarna) was from the 1960s, which gives me all the feels. Now, truthfully, the machine needed repairs after we bought it, which ended up costing $100 — I probably could have bought a good quality, brand new machine for that. But I really feel that my machine is the perfect one for me at this time in my life. It runs smoothly and makes the most neat little stitches I’ve ever seen, and I know that I’ll have it for years to come. It’s first owner took really good care of it, and I plan to do the same!

My Tips for Buying a Vintage Sewing Machine

Just because I got really lucky doesn’t mean that every sewing machine you see at a flea market or thrift store will be a good purchase. My mom and I carefully inspected my machine to make sure it was in good shape. We contacted the seller and asked about it’s condition. Plus, it came with a great sewing table and lots of accessories. If you’re considering buying vintage, I would recommend a few things:

  1. Figure out how much you’re willing to invest in a machine. If the machine ends up needing costly repairs, it may make more sense to buy a new machine instead.
  2. Check to see the condition. Contact the seller or ask to test the machine to check that it works, and make sure you look it over really thoroughly. My machine was in near pristine condition, and I could tell it had been taken care of.
  3. Look for a complete set. You’ll want the manual for sure, and a lot of the vintage machines have specific “tool-kits” that you might need to be able to adjust or fix it. I loved that my Husqvarna also came with several bobbin spools that fit it specifically (because not all bobbins fit!) and oil to keep the machine running smoothly.

Those are some of my tips. I know that I’ve been lucky with my sewing machine, and if you’re considering purchasing vintage I hope that you will, too! Good luck hunting for treasure.

xo

One thought on “My Sewing Machine Story

  1. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Imperfect Chevron

Leave a Reply

