Florida Fun: Three Sisters Spring

I’ve been loving Florida so far, and while I’m very busy keeping up with Fieldwork during the week I try to get out and enjoy my time on the weekends. Most weekends, even if the weather’s cool, you’ll find me at the beach! But a few weeks back, I headed up to Three Sisters Spring in the Crystal River area to check out the boardwalk and hopefully (fingers crossed!) see some manatees.

Three Sisters Spring via Imperfect Chevron

You guys, Three Sisters Spring did not disappoint! The water, which is 72 degrees year round, is crystal clear–seriously, it’s beautiful. In the winter months, manatees flock to the springs for warmth and rest. You can kayak or take a dive tour in the river, but I chose to walk the boardwalk and view the manatees from land; it was $15 a person, but it was completely worth it! The day I visited the Spring, they counted over 200 manatee in the water, and it was amazing.

Three Sisters Spring via Imperfect Chevron

Look at all those manatees! They were beautiful. I watched them for at least 2 hours, I was so happy to see all of them. There were a bunch of littler ones, too, which was fun to see!

Three Sisters Spring via Imperfect Chevron

There’s a sweet mama and her babes. So cute!

I would definitely recommend a visit to Three Sisters Spring if you’re in the area in the winter. It’s amazing. I hope to kayak in the Crystal River before I leave Florida–something tells me I’d see loads of cool animals on the river.

xo.

One thought on “Florida Fun: Three Sisters Spring

  1. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Imperfect Chevron

Leave a Reply

