OT Fieldwork: Rotation #2

If you’ve been following this little blog for a while, you know that I’ve been finishing up grad school (for occupational therapy) with my clinical rotations, which are 3 months each. My first rotation was in Florida, and I’m 4 weeks in to my second rotation here in North Carolina. I wanted to give you all an update on how my second rotation is going!

fieldwork update april

I was extremely excited for this particular rotation, because the setting is Outpatient Hand Therapy, a specialized subset of occupational therapy. I’ve always had it in the back of my mind that hand therapy is my dream career, though I wanted to wait until I spend 12 hardcore weeks in it to be sure. And I love it so far, you guys! It’s challenging and overwhelming and frustrating and wonderful, all at the same time.

Basically, my experience is like riding a joyful/anxiety-filled roller coaster. Some days I feel like, “yes, I’m really getting this!” Other days I feel completely incompetent. It’s stressful most of the time, because I go in without knowing exactly what to do or where to put my hands or how to make small talk with people. And sometimes we have to work patients in and I have to do something that I wasn’t expecting to have to do that day. I won’t lie to you, it has been a great challenge so far, mentally and emotionally (and a little bit physically–I am not used to sitting all day anymore!). But it’s so fascinating and motivating; I feel like I’m learning so much and really enjoying the setting. It just feels right, even though my confidence is fairly low and I have SO MUCH more to learn.

All in all, it seems to be going okay-ish. (: Thanks for letting me geek out about my second rotation today!

xo

Leave a Reply

