Hitting Refresh: A Weekend Without My Phone

I spent Memorial Day weekend in the beautiful NC mountains with my cousins (I’ll share some photos from our trip soon, I promise!). I didn’t have ANY phone service up there, and I made a spur-of-the-moment decision to forgo wifi for the weekend, as well.

Tech Free Weekend via Imperfect Chevron

That’s right. I spent over 72 hours without texting, facebook, instagram, snapchat, emails, etc. You guys, it was so liberating. Being unreachable and unplugged was very relaxing, it felt good for my soul. Unfortunately, the first thing I do in the morning is reach for my phone. It’s one of those habits that I would love to break, but can’t seem to succeed in. I felt like spending some time away from social media and email, and it was so refreshing not to be connected for a few days. The only thing I actually used my phone for was taking pictures.

I had lots of down time up in the mountains, which I certainly would have wasted away scrolling through Facebook or checking all of my email accounts (I have 5, you guys, and it’s total madness). Instead, I used free moments to sit on the deck looking out at the mountains and just enjoying the view. I did some unstructured meditation, where I just shut my brain down for a while. I let random thoughts roll through my head. And I gave myself permission to relax, to take deep breaths and just be for a little while.

Don’t worry, I’m not giving up social media or answering emails or texting anytime soon. But it felt like stepping away from being constantly connected and constantly reachable was a good way to wipe my slate clean and start over. One of my new goals for this year is to spend some time away from screens. Even if it’s for just one hour, once a week. I want to be able to enjoy the company of the wonderful people I surround myself with, and to take it all in without being bogged down by work/school every second of the day. Am I completely crazy?

xo

 

Leave a Reply

