Weekend Getaway: Vail, CO

*this post is not sponsored, and all opinions are my own*

When I graduated with my Masters degree in June, my sweet parents gave me an unexpected and amazing gift: a long weekend trip to Vail, CO and tickets to the opening night of the Vail International Dance Festival. I have always wanted to go to the festival, and I’m so happy I was able to see the performance this year. My mom found us a great little condo on Airbnb (an awesome service that I’d highly recommend if you’re traveling…so much better than staying in a hotel) within a mile of the little downtown area, and my parents and I really enjoyed exploring Vail. Here are some pictures of the trip and a little recap of what we did on our little getaway:

Weekend Getaway to Vail, CO via Imperfect Chevron

Weekend Getaway to Vail, CO via Imperfect Chevron

Weekend Getaway to Vail, CO via Imperfect Chevron

Weekend Getaway to Vail, CO via Imperfect Chevron

Weekend Getaway to Vail, CO via Imperfect Chevron

Weekend Getaway to Vail, CO via Imperfect Chevron

What we did:

  1. Hiked at this little hidden trail near Copper Mountain up to a gorgeous mountain lake, I didn’t get any photos because I was too busy trying not to cry hiking 6 miles with shin splints *sigh, dance injuries*.
  2. Fished and got skunked at the ponds off the highway by Copper Mountain.
  3. Biked through Lionshead Village and Vail Village, and through one of the ritzy neighborhoods to explore.
  4. Found the Rimini Gelato shop and splurged 3 days in a row (so. much. sorbet!). They had the best sorbet I’ve ever had, which is amazing for a dairy-free girl like myself.
  5. Admired the performers of the Vail International Dance Festival on the lawn at the Gerald Ford Amphitheater.
  6. Walked through the Betty Ford garden. Very dreamy.
  7. Spent the day just walking through Lionshead and Vail Village, listening to live music, people-watching…so good.

Anyway, this trip was so refreshing and fun. Vail is definitely a great vacation spot for people of all ages and activity levels (your trip can be really active/adventurous/leisurely, there’s so many different ways to go). It is a pretty expensive town, but we managed to save on costs by renting an affordable condo outside of the downtown area and cooking at home rather than eating out. Bring your bikes and walking shoes and you can have unlimited free entertainment!

xo

*this post is not sponsored, and all opinions are my own*

 

One thought on “Weekend Getaway: Vail, CO

  1. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Imperfect Chevron

Leave a Reply

