DIY: Gallery Wall

Since I got back home in July, I’ve been helping my mom recharge and update our house. I helped her pick a new couch (which is the most beautiful couch in the whole world, in my opinion) and two new modern chairs, we’ve been rearranging and DIY-ing some thrift store finds. All in all, it’s been good. But our living room needed some sort of a statement, it was just really blah. So I proposed the idea of making a gallery wall above the couch, with all of our paintings and little odds and ends. My mom loved the idea, and we got to work! Here’s how we did it:

  1. I collected all of our unused paintings (most of which were done by my brother, my mom, and I) and pictures in the basement, where I knew I would have a lot of room to spread out without my dog trampling all the pictures. I just started putting the pictures together in random assortments, trying to achieve that balanced/unbalanced look, and it took me a few tries but I figured out exactly how I wanted it to look and snapped a picture for reference. DIY Gallery Wall via Imperfect Chevron
  2. My mom helped me hold each picture up on the wall above the couch individually, and I marked the corners of each picture with painters tape to get a general idea of how the pictures would fit in the space and in relation to each other. This took a while, but luckily we didn’t have to redo it–we got the placement right on the first try. Also, I know this picture of the process looks like the proceedings of a lunatic, and maybe it is, but this strategy worked for us! DIY Gallery Wall via Imperfect Chevron
  3. We got out the level and started hanging our pictures, one by one. We used really little nails to hang most of the pictures, and some of that sticky reusable putty to keep the pictures flat on the wall. This step by far takes the most time, because if one picture isn’t perfectly straight your whole wall will look off. But it’s worth the time! And the finished product looks incredible.

DIY Gallery Wall via Imperfect Chevron

We love our little gallery wall, and we’re starting to design and hang another one in the family room, as well. This just adds such a powerful statement to your wall, and ties all of your furniture together into a warm and inviting space. Would you try hanging a gallery wall?

xo

One thought on “DIY: Gallery Wall

  1. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Imperfect Chevron

Leave a Reply

