End Table Makeover

One of my favorite things to do is scour thrift stores and flea markets…it’s part hobby, part addiction. It’s so satisfying when you find something incredible and look at the price tag and find you can afford it–plus, I think it’s good for the planet to reuse and upcycle rather than buying everything brand new. Win, win!

On a recent trip to a local thrift shop, I found this little side table for only $7. Real wood, adorable little size, it was perfect. But I didn’t love the look of it.

End Table Makeover via Imperfect Chevron

I was thinking about what exactly I wanted to do with the end table…should I stain it, paint it? And suddenly I just had this vision, I could see the end product and it looked fabulous. It sounds a little crazy but sometimes you just can see it, what it’s meant to look like, you know?

After sanding down the top (it was a little glossy) and priming the whole end table, I picked up 4 sample size cans of paint. Here are the colors I picked:

End Table Makeover via Imperfect Chevron

I had a lovely little helper along the way. It’s funny, but Ben just always wants to be right on top of you, doing what you’re doing. Even though he just sleeps while you work, it’s still so sweet.

End Table Makeover via Imperfect Chevron

And after several hours of labor and a coat of varnish to help protect the paint, I was finished:

End Table Makeover via Imperfect Chevron

You guys, I am so proud of this little side table! Those triangles took FOREVER but the geometric statement is so strong that it’s worth it. I think it’s amazing, because I took something that was very traditional and a little blah, and turned it into something with a modern style that I love! With a little vision and a little paint, you really can accomplish something special.

What do you think of my little project?

xo

4 thoughts on “End Table Makeover

  1. Pingback: Thrift Store Finds | Imperfect Chevron

  2. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Imperfect Chevron

Leave a Reply

